The Fintown Railway is the only operational railway in Co. Donegal. Set amidst spectacular highland scenery overlooking Lough Finn, the railway (3 m/5km) is a restored section of the former County Donegal Railway. This setting prompted the famous international playwright Brian Friel to pronounce “What is on offer is a unique journey along the shores of a lake as grand as any in Switzerland or Minnesota”
The railway nestled deep in the heart of spectacular mountainous scenery steeped in tradition, myth and folklore, and running along the crystal clear waters of Loch Finn is a million miles from the constant rush of every day life. You are invited to relive those bygone days when Donegal had 200 miles of narrow gauge railway operated by the County Donegal and Londonderry & Lough Swilly Railway Companies.
This unique journey is a three mile return trip right along the shores of Loch Finn. The reopening on the 3rd June 1995 of this first section of the Fintown – Glenties railway restoration project commemorated the centenary of the original opening in 1895.
Back in 1895 the locals in gaelic speaking Fintown christened the arrival of the first steam engine as An Mhuc Dhubh which translates as the Black Pig. Puffing, “snorting”, and billowing plumes of black smoke, this monstrous creature evoked memories of St. Colmcille’s prophesy centuries earlier: that there would never be peace in Ireland until the return of the wild pig to the shores of Loch Finn … !!!
The Fintown Railway is a member of the Cross Border Heritage Railway Cluster which is marketed under the Ulster & Connaught Heritage Railways brand. Partner railways include the Cavan & Leitrim Railway, The Giant’s Causeway & Bushmills Railway and Downpatrick & Co. Down Railway. Why not visit them and experience rail travel from a bygone age